7:54
7:54
7:54
Apparently I'm being too hard on myself.

At least that's the conclusion Mark, Adam and AJ came to last night. I was in a foul mood all damn day and I couldn't get rid of it until we were getting ready to go jam.
See, I don't like writing on the spot without inspiration. It sucks. There's too much pressure to hurry and get something done before practice is over, since we only have 3-4 hours each weekday practice. Saturday is a whole other thing, we rock out for 6-8 hours so there's no pressure there. But when I'm trying to rush, it just sucks.
And I think this is their first band, which would explain a few things. It's like they expect me to just HAVE shit all the time.
That's cool if we were just some band that's just trying to get rich...some of those mofos that shoot to stardom right away don't really have much substance, their shit just sounds catchy...and unfortunately, nine time out of ten if you have a really catchy hook, that's all you need. Seriously. Or a really repetitive chorus like "The Baha Men" or whatever the fuck those guys were called.
I don't wanna be that guy. I wanna be perfectly happy with my lyrics, and I want them to have substance, I want them to say something, I want them to speak to people. I don't want it all to be shit that came up on the spot. I want to be happy with my shit first...I can't see others being happy with it if I'm not.
But then again, I'm a perfectionist. Nothing I do is ever good enough for me. So that comes back to the whole being too hard on myself thing.

Fuck. I need to get my ass in the shower. NOW. This is one of the benefits to being a guy...in and out of the shower in 5 minutes if ya wanna be...

And then off to my daily vomit-inducing grind...
Fuck...

<<<< Friday, Apr. 08, 2005 || 7:43 AM >>>>
reproduction strictly prohibited, all material owned by cyanideeyes.

profile . notes . email . older . today . dland . dzign . synthdel