Rant rant rant rant rant...
Rant rant rant rant rant...
Rant rant rant rant rant...
"I'm the closest thing to American Royalty."
-Paris Hilton.
No, you're a stupid spoiled whore. BIG difference.

Anyway.

I'm pretty sure I'm not getting that job. I was so fucking nervous once things got underway...oh well. Nothing worth mentioning on that front.
So I've been thinking a lot about what I'm going to do for music. Eric is gonna be pissed because seriously...I don't think I'm gonna get that far with him. He's awesome and all, but he's got the wrong attitude when it comes to this stuff. He's very motivated but he doesn't know how to talk to people about this shit: he doesn't know how to sacrifice things in order to make the situation work. He's turned away good drummers because it wasn't what he was looking for. What about what I'M looking for? What about everyone else in the band? It seems like he's only seeing his ideas, goals, wants and needs as far as this is concerned. Maybe I'm wrong.
I went to see Switchpin and Diecast last night, and when Diecast put up the vote for what cover song they were gonna play (Twisted Sister, Pantera, or Slayer), I screamed my brains out for Pantera and Pat was like "Dude, YOU need to get up there with them, damn."
I'm actually not amazed with how much I hear that anymore. It's just like someone saying "The sky is blue." Yep, sure is.
Yes, I should be up onstage instead of in the crowd. Oh well. My time will come. Those who push too hard fall even harder. I've seen it happen. STILL seein' it happen, actually.

Another thing I really hate lately is how people who don't know shit about music and just listen to it think they can hold a logical comparison conversation with me, someone who studies theory. Unless you know what the fuck you're talking about, shut up. Put some fucking education behind your "ideas" before stepping to me like you know better. Because you don't. If you think Linkin Park is metal, you're fucking stupid. If you try to tell me that the dude from Seether sings better than Maynard James Keenan, you're a goddamn moron. If you try to tell me that Godsmack is aggressive, I will pop you in your fucking mouth. HARD.
When it comes to discussions like that, I go by fact and not my personal feelings or opinions. I've played every instrument of the 4 basics: guitar, drums, bass and vocals. I know my shit. I ain't the best at any of them, but I'm good enough. I've pulled all sorts of knowledge from those instruments. They've all taught me something new, something more I didn't know before. I hear shit in music that people who don't play can't hear: they don't know the sound difference between a hammer-on and a pull-off. They can't hear dry picking. They don't know what a blastbeat is. Or a walkup. If I say "legato" they're like "Le-what?"

So until you can read sheet music AND play what you're seeing, don't try to get all technical with me, because I will totally sink your Scrabbleship. And don't try to act like because you listen to a lot of bands that makes you an expert. Tell me when Fear Factory's "Demanufacture" came out, off the top of your head, as well as who was playing in the band at the time and what the concept of that album was. Shit, I can give you their whole entire career synopsis up to current. Right fucking now.
I dunno. I know I probably sound arrogant, but that's hardly the case. I'm confident in what I know. And I hate it when people try to make ME look dumb when it comes to this shit.

I breathe this. I live this. I don't want anything else. NOTHING in this life can come close to what music has done for me, and that's been tested time and time again. I can't even stop making it: I've tried. When you're scribbling on paper and don't know where the pen or the paper came from or how you got to the table, that says something.

Ah, fuck off.

<<<< Wednesday, Sept. 14, 2005 || 11:07 AM >>>>
reproduction strictly prohibited, all material owned by cyanideeyes.

profile . notes . email . older . today . dland . dzign . synthdel